Still Blogging (and more!) for Change

Some of you may have wondered where I disappeared to this week – where was I when everyone else was talking about breast cancer and screening in newspapers, on radio, on networks, cable shows and even Larry King Live!  Well, I was talking too.  And talking.  And talking.  Just not blogging.  I didn’t have a spare moment to blog.

In some fateful, strange twist of timing, I began working for the National Breast Cancer Coalition as Research Manager on Tuesday, just hours after the new breast cancer screening recommendations were released.  The release caused an immediate media firestorm.  Rather than filling out paperwork and finding the bathroom on my first day of work, I spent the day on the phone doing live radio shows, filming local TV spots in front of the building, and rushing between studios for national TV appearances.  Whew!  And that was just the first day!  The issue didn’t go away during the week but rather seemed to gain momentum.  I finished the week with an appearance on MSNBC’s Dr. Nancy Snyderman Show.

I like blogging much much better than TV and radio shows.  I like being able to control my own words and keep them IN context.  But I do love my new job.  My passion for eradicating breast cancer and my understanding that we can’t do it without following the science made the National Breast Cancer Coalition a natural fit for me.  They’ve been pushing for the right research for years to fulfill their mission of eradicating breast cancer.  I plan on continuing to blog from my new position with NBCC.  But I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to have influence and bring the change we need through more than just blogging.   Stay tuned.  Tomorrow I will blog about the new screening recommendations and address some of the misinformation out there.   And look for daily updates from the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium – the largest national meeting on breast cancer research – in just a few weeks.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lilla  On November 23, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Congratulations on your new job and kudos for getting through an insane first week. I know the fit between you and NBCC is perfect. You are capable of great things.

  • suzanne  On November 23, 2009 at 11:07 am

    go, laura! congratulations! we’ll be right there beside you.

    suzanne hicks

  • Musa Mayer  On November 23, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Laura, I’m so pleased you’ve taken this position. Sounds as if you’ve already made a real contribution. Where can we look online to see your interviews on the mammography issue?

  • Deb Cole  On November 23, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Laura you were definately in the right place at the right time. Congrats and great job! Looking forward to SABCS. See you soon!

  • Tami Boehmer  On November 23, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Wow Laura, I’m so impressed! Congrats! I missed all the coverage. Is there a way you can post it via You Tube or something?

    I did a little media “campaign” myself. I emailed Peggy O’Farrell at the Enquirer and was featured in Sunday’s paper. I referred her to Randy Drosick, my oncologist, who’s featured too. This made me so mad, I had to say something.

    Way to go, Laura!

Leave a Reply

